Facebook Logo twitter logo

Member recognition

Image of a arm and an opened hand face-up with a star floating above it.

Every year at AMPA, OSSTF/FEESO members are recognized for outstanding service. This year the following awards were presented.

Photo of Kevin Smith

Jennifer Maclean Health and Safety Award
The Jennifer MacLean Health and Safety Award recognizes outstanding achievement in the area of health and safety by an
OSSTF/FEESO member. Kevin Smith (District 7, Bluewater) is this year’s recipient. A certified Workers Health and Safety Centre instructor, he has delivered numerous workshops at the Bargaining Unit, District and Provincial levels. Kevin is a true champion for our members and a staunch labour activist.


Photo of Ronnie Whitcomb


Political Action Award
Ronnie Whitcomb (District 23, Grand Erie) is the winner of this year’s Political Action Award in honour of Larry French and Wendell Fulton. Ronnie works tirelessly for her local labour council and is involved in her community. She will be greatly missed as she retires this year.



Photo of Lucie Loranger—CSLF Award recipient


CSLF Award
The recipient of this year’s CSLF award is Lucie Loranger (District 31—Unité 60A). Lucie retired in June 2017.
Through her dedication and hard work over the course of her career, she became an invaluable asset to OSSTF/FEESO’s francophone members who appreciated her professionalism and support.


Photo of Garrett Metcalfe


James Forster Human Rights Award
The recipient of this year’s James Forster Human Rights Award is Garrett Metcalfe (District 13, Durham). Garrett is a founder of the Durham Region chapter of PFLAG and has served on the board of the AIDs committee of Durham Region. In District 13, he started the first GSA (then GSTA) and created the first queer studies course. Garrett regularly offers in-service to Durham Regional Police.


Photo of representatives


Communication Award
The OSSTF/FEESO Communication Award takes into consideration any and all forms of communication, including newsletters, websites, social media and issue-based campaigns. This year’s award goes to the District 19, Peel, Teacher’s Bargaining Unit, for providing informative, timely, and innovative professional communication to its members.


Liz Barkley Status of Women Award
The Liz Barkley Status of Women Award recognizes leadership by an OSSTF/FEESO member in advocating and building awareness on women’s economic and equality issues. This year’s recipient is Carole Hunton (District 30, PSAT), who has been dedicated to working on causes related to women at the local level. Carole was not in attendance to accept her award.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.