Facebook Logo twitter logo

Awards bestowed at June Provincial Council

Illustration of a golden cup outline and laurel leaves above it

Each year at June Provincial Council, OSSTF/FEESO takes the opportunity to recognize the outstanding work and time given by members on behalf of the Federation with awards of recognition.  You can find out more about their accomplishments and contributions in the Member Awards section of the provincial website. Congratulations to this year’s award winners.

Provincial Executive Award
The Provincial Executive Award is given to “A Member, who in the opinion of the Provincial Executive has rendered meritorious and outstanding services to the OSSTF/FEESO at both the provincial and local level is eligible for the Provincial Executive Award.” This year, the Provincial Executive Award has been awarded to Ronnie Whitcomb, District 23, Grand Erie. Ronnie’s entire career has been spent as an engaged local leader and activist, and most of her work has been as a volunteer. Her passion and commitment are infectious, and she has a seemingly endless level of energy and drive to continue to do whatever it takes to get a job done, and done well. She embodies everything OSSTF/FEESO stands for and consistently strives to improve our union and, in combination with her work on her local labour council, society as a whole.

Norm Snyder Award
The Provincial Executive established the Norm Snyder Award for a member or members, nominated locally, who have made an outstanding contribution to OSSTF/FEESO locally and/or provincially, mainly as a volunteer; in other words, to recognize those members who followed in Norm Snyder’s path of selfless and outstanding service to this union and
its members.

This year Provincial Executive is proud to add to the Norm Snyder Award Honour Role the name of Roberta (Bobbi) Pentland, nominated by District 21, Hamilton. Roberta has served willingly in a vast array of roles within OSSTF and has been an inspiration for new members who have not yet been engaged. She educates and informs our members about the importance of the Federation and their participation in it.

Roberta is a phenomenal educator and a valued activist in District 21.

Bob Brooks Award

This Award is named for the late principal of Malvern Collegiate Institute and is presented for excellence in school-community relations. This award is bestowed, once in a career, upon an individual OSSTF/FEESO member, a staff, or a Federation group.

Nicole Swain, District 13, Durham who teaches at Brooklin High School in Brooklin, is this year’s Bob Brooks Award winner. Nicole teaches biology and environmental studies, and is also a beef and cash crop farmer. She enjoys sharing her family farm experiences with her students and likes to put a face to people who grow food. Nicole loves teaching lessons about soil health, crop protection and precision agriculture, and she has fostered a connection between her school and community by offering students the opportunity to meet members of the agricultural community.

Nicole is passionate about teaching and an excellent ambassador for science and agriculture through her outstanding efforts to bring agricultural literacy to life in her classrooms.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.