Facebook Logo twitter logo

OSSTF/FEESO supports life-long learning

OTIP Teaching awards

Every year OSSTF/FEESO offers fellowships and grants to members to assist with their educational endeavours. The following are the recipients for the 2023-2024 academic year.

The recipients of the S. Hunter Henry Grant are Katherine Coles (District 27 – Limestone), Sylvia Gallo (District 17 – Simcoe), Samantha Seto (District 13 – Durham), and Mercedes Vasa (District 17 – Simcoe). The S. Hunter Henry Grant assists members in their studies at a university or college of their choice.

This year’s recipient of the I.M. (Brick) Robb Fellowship is Karen O’Meara (District 16 – York). This fellowship assists members with doctoral studies at a university of their choice.

Sunaina Sharma (District 20 – Halton) has been awarded the Dr. S.G.B. Robinson Travelling Grant; a grant that allows members to travel for the purpose of serving education.

There were no recipients for the J.W. Ansley Grant. This grant is designed to assist/support OSSTF/FEESO member’s research projects of a practical nature which are currently topical and the results of which will primarily benefit the classroom practitioner and/or educational programs or curriculum.

There recipients for the Educational Enhancement Grant were Yesenia Watkins (District 18 – Upper Grand) and Mercedes Vasa (District 17 – Simcoe). The Educational Enhancement Grant assists members with their studies leading to a first undergraduate degree/diploma/certificate at a university or community college of their choice, or in gaining a secondary school diploma from a publicly funded secondary school.

OSSTF/FEESO congratulates all of the applicants and wishes them success in their studies. Application forms and other criteria concerning these fellowships and grants are available at www.osstf.on.ca/awards. The OSSTF/FEESO Educational Services Committee Scholarships & Awards Work Group administers the fellowships and grants.

The deadline for applications is April 1, 2024 for the 2024-2025 academic year. Please direct your questions regarding these awards to esdawards@osstf.ca or by phone 416-751-8300 or 1-800-267-7867.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.